Sunday, April 29, 2012

VIDEO: Huberdeau's Hit On Hudon

SAINT JOHN – It looks like the Saint John Sea Dogs will have to deal with some controversy this week as they prepare for the President’s Cup final.

Sea Dogs captain Jonathan Huberdeau nailed Chicoutimi Sagueneens forward Charles Hudon from behind just 18 seconds after the opening faceoff. Huberdeau wasn’t even given a penalty while Hudon had to be helped off the ice and to the dressing room. He did not return.

Here’s video from Chris Phillips of

For some reason the Sags posted this video on their Facebook page. The comments are what you’d expect.

Neate Sager of Buzzing The Net has his take on the situation here.

Like we’ve said before, this league is so inconsistent with suspensions it’s hard to say if Huberdeau gets any games for this hit. We’ll see.

1 comment:

  1. It really wasn't much of a hit, more like an afterthought. I was quite surprised that Hudon had to be helped off the ice. The hit that drove Villemaire head first into the boards seconds before Galieve's first goal was much worse and also got no whistle. After the rational the QMJHL used to shaft Critchlow they will have a very hard time overturning the judgement of the on ice official. As if anything from #21 could be called judgement.